Łukasz Fabiański- A forgotten man

14 Mar

If you are expecting me to go on one of my endless rants, then i’m afraid you’re going to be disappointed.

I was very impressed with Arsenal’s 2-0 win over Bayern Munich. I know we didn’t get through, but all I asked for was a committed, passionate performance from the players, and that’s exactly what happened. The player I was most impressed with though is probably one you would least expect it to be.

It was a very bold decision by Arsene Wenger to drop Wojciech Szczesny, and showed something I haven’t seen Arsene use for a long time- an iron fist on player performance. This is why Arsenal don’t do well, because Wenger is usually too scared to drop out of form players. This time he did, and what an effect it had.

I swear Fabianski must be one of the most unlucky goalkeepers alive. Whenever their should be an opportunity for him he’s always injured. He was touted as Manuel Almunia’s replacement, but no, he got injured, and out comes Wojciech Szczesny. That meant he also lost his Poland spot.

But last night he was truly brilliant. I’m not sure how he did it, especially just coming back from injury, but he was fantastic. In fact, I think he may have been the best player on the pitch. The whole Arsenal defence played fantastically as well, committed and dedicated to the cause. Walcott and Cazorla down the wings weren’t bad either. However, the midfield 3 couldn’t string 2 passes together without the ball going out of play, and aside from his goal Giroud did basically nothing. Gervinho, true to form, came on as a sub and missed an almost open net.

My Ratings (Not that anyone cares):

Fabianski (9)
Jenkinson (8)
Mertesacker (7)
Koscielny (8)
Gibbs (7)
Arteta (6)
Ramsey (5)
Rosicky (5)
Walcott (7)
Giroud (6)
Cazorla (7)
Gervinho (6)
Oxlade-Chamberlain (6)

And finally an apology that I won’t be posting for the next few days, for I am in Monaco. Don’t all get jealous at once.

 

Leave a Reply

